FSC Racing Rules

2016 Florida Cup Winners

Winners for the January 2016 Florida Cup held in a Whistler, Canada are:

1st Place
Space Coast Ski & Travel Club

2nd Place
Pensacola Ski Club

3rd Place
Orlando Ski Club

Past Presidents

2011-2014: Clair Quenzler
(Space Coast Ski Club)

2010-2011: Laurie Vest
(Orlando Ski Club)

2008-2010: Diane Peavy
(Pensacola Ski Club)

2006-2008: Michelle Moskowitz
(Miami Ski Club)

2004-2006: Bob Kendall
(Gator Ski Club of the Palm Beaches)

2002-2004: Kim Miller
(Orlando Ski Club)

2000-2002: Hank Rhawn
(Sarasota Ski Club)

1998-2000: Jim Nicholas
(Space Coast Ski Club)

1996-1998: Bob Thompson
(Jacksonville Ski Club)

1994-1996: Al Desilet
(Tampa Bay Snow Skiers)

1992-1994: Lenny Indianer
(Daytona Beach Ski Club)

1990-1992: Bob Davis
(Jacksonville Ski Club)

1988-1990: Pauline Boravicka
(Arias)(Miami Ski Club)

1986-1988: Tim Gaskins
(Jacksonville Ski Club)

1983-1986: Fred Wasserman
(Miami Ski Club)

The FSC uses NASTAR rules on racing and handicaps. Clubs are assigned race times based on the number of racers they have that there an approximate equal number of racers in each timeslot. In addition, the club’s time slot in the previous year’s race is taken into account so that every club gets the opportunity to race in the different slots. We use at least two, but preferably four, racecourses.

Racing32The resort’s pacesetter will set the Par time for each course at the start of each hour. Each racer gets two runs and the best run (by their handicap) will be used for tabulation. As the handicap is the racer’s times as a percentage over the Par time, everyone is on an equal footing, since the course changes are minimal in the one-hour time from the pacesetter’s run.

A person’s age or gender does not affect their handicap, only the medal they qualify for under the NASTAR rules. The course officials may, at their discretion, reposition the gates should they feel the course needs to be re-set. If this occurs, it must be between the hourly sessions and subsequently re-run by the pacesetter with a new Par time established. No racer can call for re-set or slipping of the course during the race.

We require all racers to be signed up before the day of the race with no sign ups allowed on the hill the day of the race. A rare exception may be made at the determination of the VP of On Mountain Activities should there be special circumstances they feel warrant an inclusion.

Individual Results

If it is a NASTAR-sanctioned race course, the resort race director will determine medal results and provide the FSC vice president, On-Mountain Activities with a list and the NASTAR medals for each racer. These will be provided to each club’s race captain for distribution to the club members.

Individuals are also awarded FSC medals based on handicapped times within sex and age categories as well as “Fastest Man on the Mountain” and “Fastest Woman on the Mountain”.

Club Results

To qualify as a club team, a club must have times for three male racers and three female racers. While any trip participant may race, only racers with a valid ID verifying their Florida residency may have their results counted for Pauline’s Cup.

The handicapped time for the three fastest men and the three fastest women in a club are totaled for the club time. Clubs are then awarded gold, silver or bronze team medals, based on the club time. On the January trip, in addition to team medals, the first place team is awarded Pauline’s Cup.

Due to airline baggage restrictions, the FSC has had to modify our trophy presentations. At the resort, the club is given the Florida Cup plaque — much easier to pack! Then at the annual meeting held in the spring, they are presented with Pauline’s Cup, where they can transport it by car.

All FSC individual medals and club medals/trophy are presented at the Thursday night theme party.

Learn more about Pauline’s Cup.